Hans-Dieter Michatz & Linda Kent - Telemann - Sonate Metodiche

Hans-Dieter Michatz & Linda Kent - Telemann - Sonate Metodiche

Regular price $17.00 Sale

Two of Australia's finest baroque musicians perform Telemann's rarely heard 'Sonate Metodiche' for Baroque flute and continuo. This disc contains six Telemann sonatas which exhibit all the wonderful variety, exploitation of colour and detailed ornamentation characteristic of the high Baroque.

When the "Sonate Metodiche" were published in 1728, Georg Philipp Telemann was at the peak of his career. Securely employed by the city of Hamburg as Cantor and Director Musices, he had left behind the limitations of the responsibility towards a single sovereign, and was catering for a more open, 'democratic' musical public.

Publications of his music were often followed by a second volume suggesting their popularity with musical amateurs as well as professionals, including the 'Methodical Sonatas' (in 1732).

It is surprising that the Methodical Sonatas have not yet become part of the mainstream repertoire, and the number of recordings is relatively small compared to similar repertoire. After all, they are rather large-scale works, extremely varied and full of the most inspired writing known from this period. Perhaps the title is slightly prohibitive in our time, when 'method' might too easily become associated with ' arid, constructed or uninspired'. However, nothing is further from the truth. The title refers as much to the care that has gone into the composition of the two sets of six Sonatas, as it points to the examples of high baroque ornamentation practices (which Telemann provides for each of the slow first movements).

As the acoustics in the recording venue were quite live - similar to what we can expect from a larger Baroque music room - the two instruments come across as equal partners rather than solo and accompaniment, which also reflects the intention to use as little technical manipulation as possible.

[widgetic-audio-player id=5baef916ecb2a1166d8b456a autoscale=on width=500 height=350 resize=fill-width]


Hans-Dieter Michatz

Playing modern and baroque flute as well as recorder, Hans-Dieter Michatz has performed and recorded with The Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra, The Sydney Chamber Orchestra, Sydney Philharmonia Choirs, the ABC, the Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, as well as in Musica Viva Education Project.

Linda Kent

Linda has been a core member of the Elysium Ensemble and has performed with such notable artists as Walter van Hauwe, Han Tol, Eva Legène and Stanely Ritchie. Her playing has been critically acclaimed for its sensitivity, insight and sense of style.

Track Listing

Sonata 1 in G Minor Georg Philipp Telemann

    1. Adagio 
    2. Vivace 
    3. Grave 
    4. Allegro 

Sonata 2 in A Major Georg Philipp Telemann

    1. Adagio 
    2. Vivace 
    3. Cortesmente 
    4. Vivace 

Sonata 3 in E Minor Georg Philipp Telemann

    1. Grave 
    2. Vivace 
    3. Cunando 
    4. Vivace 

Sonata 4 in D Major Georg Philipp Telemann

    1. Andante 
    2. Presto 
    3. Con tenerezza 
    4. Allegro 

Sonata 5 in A Minor Georg Philipp Telemann

    1. Largo 
    2. Allegro 
    3. Ondeggiando 
    4. Allegro 

Sonata 6 in G Major Georg Philipp Telemann

  1. Cantabile 
  2. Vivace 
  3. Mesto 
  4. Spirituoso 



Sold Out