Schubert/Stallman Rondo in A Major Two Flutes and Piano

Regular price $62.95

Arranged by Robert Stallman
Duration: 10 min.

Schubert composed the A Major Rondo for piano four-hands in June of 1828, only months before his death at age 32.   Like Mozart’s astounding creative burst in the final months of his brief life (The Magic Flute, La Clemenza di Tito, the last three Symphonies, the Clarinet Concerto, the Requiem), Schubert’s early death was preceded by an equally amazing spurt of compressed creative energy.  In the space of ten months, as if driven by an overpowering inner force, he composed some of his greatest music: the last three piano Sonatas, the Klavierstücken, the String Quintet in C Major, the “Great” Symphony, the Mass in Eb Major and the Schwanengesang.  The A Major Rondo was written while Schubert worked feverishly on the Eb Major Mass.  It was published by Artaria in Vienna a month after his death...



More from this collection



Sold Out